ME Faculty


Cha_135px.png

Min Suk Cha
Associate Professor
Plasma assisted combustion, Fuel reforming, Plasma sources, Flame dynamics
E-Mail: min.cha@kaust.edu.sa​
Research Group Website  
Dibble_135px.png

Robert Dibble
Professor
Combustion, Heat and mass transfer, Reactive systems
E-Mail: robert.dibble@kaust.edu.sa​



Aamir Farooq
Associate Professor
Combustion chemistry,and laser diagnostics.
E-Mail: aamir.farooq@kaust.edu.sa​
Research Group Website    



Hong Im
Professor                                                                                                     Flames, ignition, extinction, computational modeling, direct numerical simulation, large eddy simulation, turbulent combustion modeling, internal combustion engine modeling, pollutant mitigation and control, combustion chemistry, combustion in microsystems
E-Mail: hong.im@kaust.edu.sa​​
Research Group Website

Johansson_135.png

Bengt Johansson
Professor
Homogeneous charge compression ignition, HCCI and partially premixed combustion, PPC, high efficiency thermodynamics
E-Mail: bengt.johansson@kaust.edu.sa​

Lacoste_135px.png

Deanna Lacoste
Assistant Professor
High pressure combustion, Plasma-assisted combustion, Optical diagnostics, Thermo acoustic instabilities
E-Mail: deanna.lacoste@kaust.edu.sa

Gilles Lubineau​
Professor
Virtual testing, identification, modeling, and simulation strategies for composites, especially for predicting severe mechanisms of degradation in CRFP
E-Mail: gilles.lubineau@kaust.edu.sa
Research Group Website
magnotti_135px2.png
Gaetano Magnotti
Assistant Professor
Combustion, Laser Diagnostics, Turbulence, Gas Turbines, Internal Combustion Engines
E-Mail: gaetano.magnotti@kaust.edu.sa​


Brian Moran
Associate Provost Graduate Affairs
E-Mail: brian.moran@kaust.edu.sa
Website:
www.kaust.edu.sa/academics/faculty/moran.html​




William Roberts
Professor, Director of the Clean Combustion Research Center                          Laminar & turbulent jet diffusion flames, flame-vortex interactions, non-linear optical diagnostics, soot formation, high pressure flames, constant volume combustion engines, thermo-catalytic fuel conversion technologies for next generation biofuels.
E-Mail: William.Roberts@kaust.edu.sa
Research Group Website                            

Ravi S.jpg

Ravi Samtaney
Professor
Associate Dean PSE Division
Alternative energy, Computational Fluid Dynamics and plasma physics, numerical methods, shock physics, high-performance computing.
E-Mail: ravi.samtaney@kaust.edu.sa
Research Group Website   


 

Sigurdur Thorodssen
Professor                                                                                                  Experimental fluid mechanics, ultra-high-speed video imaging, dynamics of free-surface flows
E-Mail: sigurdur.thoroddsen@kaust.edu.sa
Research Group Website

 



Mohammed Younis
Associate Professor                                                                                           Design of novel MEMS sensors and switches
E-Mail: Mohammad.Younis@kaust.edu.sa
Research Group Website 

Affiliated Faculty Members

Mani Sarathy c.jpg
Mani Sarathy
Associate Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
E-mail: mani.sarathy@kaust.edu.sa​
Research Group Website​





Christian Claudel​
Assistant Professor
Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering​
E-Mail: christian.claudel@kaust.edu.sa​
Website: 
dss.kaust.edu.sa/Pages/home.aspx​

Omar Knio
Professor of Applied Mathematics and Computational Sciences, Deputy Director​​​​,   KAUST Strategic Research Initiative, Uncertainty Quantification Center​
E-Mail: Omar.Knio@kaust.edu.sa



Emiritus Faculty ​

Suk Ho Chung
Professor
Fundamental combustion and emissions
E-Mail: sukho.chung@kaust.edu.sa​
Research Group Website